ONLINE WSET Level 1 Award in Wines

You’ll have 4 weeks online guided study and regular access to online activities

Are you an enthusiast who would love to learn more about wines yet you just don’t have the time to commit yourself to attending classroom courses?  If the answer’s ‘Yes’ then perhaps the online option is for you.

funding availalbe image
Click here to learn more about the funding available on this course

The ONLINE WSET Level 1 Award in Wines course provides 4 weeks of online guided study.  Student activities include weekly tasks, group tasting area, multiple choice feedback tests and videos.  There are 7 modules to complete and you’ll be supplied guidelines on progression, however, you can login and get studying at home at your own time and pace.

You can post your tasting notes on the Online Classroom for review by the educator

Click here to learn more about the WSET Level 1 Award in Wines

We’ll have subject specialist educators on hand to provide you with the necessary feedback on your assigned exercises and they’ll respond about any course related queries you may have.  Additionally you can interact in the forums with other students on the same course. Pretty simple and straightforward.

Once you’re ready, you’ll have a full 12 months to come along and sit your exam!

There are proven advantages and benefits of traditional classroom courses, particularly in areas like learning in a tutored environment the Systematic Approach to Tasting. If you’d prefer to come along to one of our traditional classroom courses, click here


WHAT YOU NEED

All study materials are included in the online course, which is Ofqual Regulated.

You’ll need access to a computer and/or HTML5 compatible mobile or tablet with the following minimum requirements:

  • Internet Explorer 10, Firefox 25.0, Safari 6, Chrome 30.0 or other HTML5 compatible
  • web browser with Javascript and cookies enabled
  • Adobe Reader XI or equivalent
  • Internet access (broadband recommended)

7 MODULES

Click to view the E-learning Modules

Each week there are a series of independent and/or group activities to help you understand the differences between grape varieties and types and styles of wines.

The e-learning modules are ideally followed in order. Click here to view.


COST

£145.00 per student including VAT, ONLINE course and examination (i.e. £120.83 excluding VAT


NEXT ONLINE COURSES​​

Set Scheduled Course Dates

Start Date End Date Exam Date
Course Closed Monday 31st May 2021 Sunday 27th June 2021 Monday 28th June 2021
Monday 21st June 2021 Sunday 18th July 2021 Monday 23rd August 2021
Monday 28th June 2021 Sunday 25th July 2021 Monday 23rd August 2021
Monday 5th July 2021 Sunday 1st August 2021 Monday 23rd August 2021
Monday 19th July 2021 Sunday 15th August 2021 Monday 23rd August 2021
Monday 26th July 2021 Sunday 22nd August 2021 Monday 23rd August 2021
Monday 9th August 2021 Sunday 5th September 2021 Saturday 25th September 2021
Monday 23rd August 2021 Sunday 19th September 2021 Saturday 25th September 2021
Monday 6th September 2021 Sunday 3rd October 2021 Monday 18th October 2021
Monday 20th September 2021 Sunday 17th October 2021 Monday 18th October 2021
Monday 4th October 2021 Sunday 31st October 2021 Monday 8th November 2021
Monday 1st November 2021 Sunday 28th November 2021 Monday 13th December 2021
Monday 15th November 2021 Sunday 12th December 2021 Monday 13th December 2021
Monday 29th November 2021 Sunday 26th December 2021 Saturday 26th February 2022
Monday 13th December 2021 Sunday 9th January 2022 Saturday 26th February 2022
Monday 27th December 2021 Sunday 23rd January 2022 Saturday 26th February 2022

*Please note that online courses close 6 working days prior to commencement


EXAMINATION

Examinations are on set dates after the scheduled course takes place.  Whilst the course is online, the examination is not as students need to sit their exam under the same conditions as our classroom course students.

If you need more time, we can arrange another mutually convenient date.  Please note that we require a minimum of 12 working days notice.

The exam paper has 30 multiple-choice questions to be answered in 45 minutes.  A mark of 70% is required to pass.


BOOKING TERMS & CONDITIONS

Make sure you have a look at the terms and conditions for the Online Classroom as they are slightly different to the day/evening courses. Click here.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q.  How does the Online Classroom work?

A.  Once enrolled to a scheduled online course, we’ll send you a welcome email that will detail how to access the learning zone.  You’ll be provided with guidelines on progression and then it’s then up to you to decide how often and whether or not you wish to learn in small bite sized chunks or perhaps in more in depth sessions. 

Q. Is there a deadline for booking on to an online classroom course?

A. Yes.  You need to book at least 6 working days before the start of the course.

Q. How will I know what wines to taste?

A. Suggested and recommended wine are detailed in the Equipment List and Specification.

Q.  What if I’m unsure about any of the content of the course programme?

A. No problem.  Throughout the online course, you have access to a subject specialist educator online who will respond to your course related query.

Q.  What is the recommended self study time for this programme?

A.  Obviously people learn at different speeds and how much prior knowledge of wines you have before you start the course, will have a bearing on this. The online course material should take about 6 hours in total to complete. For a successful outcome, we do highly recommend that all students spend at least 3 hours per week studying, have regular online access and participation plus a further 1 hour revision prior to sitting the exam.

Q.  How long can I take to complete my studies?

A.  From enrolment, you have a full 12 months in which to complete the Online Classroom course and sit your exam. After the set scheduled course dates i.e. from the course end date, you will not be able to take part in any of the online activities and will no longer have the online educator support facility.  

Q.  Where do I sit my exam?

A.  On enrolment, we will let you know the forthcoming exam dates and it’s up to you which one you would like to attend.  All we ask is that you notify us a minimum of 12 working days prior to the exam day so that we can register you with WSET® Awards.

Q.  Can you sit the examination online?

A. No. Students need to sit their exam under the same conditions as our classroom courses.

Q.  Is it possible to attend the delivery of Day Release lectures?

A.  Yes so, it recommended that you purchase the classroom version of the WSET Level 1 Award in Wines instead. Click here.